Friday November 28, 2014


  • Do you consider it rude to swear in public?
  • Yes
  • 68%
  • No
  • 32%
  • Total Votes: 22

Weybex Awards tickets on sale now


The Weyburn Chamber of Commerce Weybex Awards will be held May 23 at McKenna Hall at 6 p.m.

The Weybex Awards is a celebration of business excellence in the City of Weyburn honouring individuals and businesses doing great things in the community.

The Weyburn Co-op sponsored Business of the Year Award is presented to a business that has operated in Weyburn for at least three years. The business exemplifies entrepreneurial spirit and demonstrated outstanding achievement and commitment to excellence and quality in their field.

The 2012 recipient was Souris Valley Industries.

Cenovus Energy sponsors the Business Leader of the Year. This award is presented to an individual who exemplifies the qualities of the business visionary, showing outstanding success in business or industry through the development of new process, product or service.

The 2012 recipient was Kim Thorson.

The Golden Service Award is sponsored by MNP and is awarded to a local business that consistently demonstrates outstanding customer service and hospitality.

The 2012 recipient was Home Hardware.

Sponsored by SaskEnergy, the Community Involvement Award is presented to the business that demonstrates outstanding performance in its contribution to recreation, amateur sports, arts and culture, education, charitable or non-profit groups and business development/promotion of the city through time and financial support.

The 2012 recipient was the Mainil family of companies.

The Sunrise Community Futures sponsored New/Expanded Business Award is presented to a business that was established or expanded within the past two years and has demonstrated exceptional performance in terms of expansion into a new product, service or line of business, or the creation of new marketing and/or jobs.

The 2012 recipient was Souris Valley Industries.

New Age Electronics sponsors the Business Hall of Fame Award. This award is designed to recognize pioneer and corner stone business leaders who have demonstrated excellence over an extended period of time and whose business has contributed to the economic well being of Weyburn and immediate area.

In 2012, Access Communications, John Georgacacos, RBC Royal Bank Weyburn all received the Business Hall of Fame Award.

Tickets for the Weybex Awards are $55 each or a table of eight for $440 and are available by calling the Chamber office.



NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Weyburn This Week welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

blog comments powered by Disqus

About Us | Advertise | Contact Us | Sitemap / RSS   Glacier Community Media:    © Copyright 2014 Glacier Community Media | User Agreement & Privacy Policy


Lost your password?