Monday November 24, 2014


Survey results are meant for general information only, and are not based on recognised statistical methods.

Weyburn and District Hospital Foundation holds AGM


The Weyburn and District Hospital Foundation held their annual general meeting on June 18. The new board of directors are: Back row (l-r) Ron Milleker, Dr. Alain Lenferna, Andrew Arksey, Michael Hoffman and Mal Barber, board chair. Front row (l-r) Karen Stephenson, SCHR Liason, Dan Cugnet, Al York, Jeff Hayward and CJ Mainil, Missing from the picture: Grant Marinos, Scott Moffat, Jennifer Morrice and Laura Resler.

The Weyburn and District Hospital Foundation held their AGM on June 18 noting the support received continued to grow during the 2013-14 year.

Board Chair Mal Barber said the city and many rural municipalities have started accumulating their commitment for the future as plans for the new hospital take shape.

In the last year, the Lions Club, upon their dissolution, gave funds to the foundation, in addition to the Rotary Club, the Weyburn Red Wings, the Spencer Memorial Golf group and the Opportunity Road Race.

"The support we receive is phenomenal year after year. We were especially appreciative of a gift from Kick Glass, a company formed by the Entrepreneurial class at the Comprehensive School that donated 10 per cent of their profit," said Barber.

Prairie Sky Co-op has a matching donation program which individual Co-op member donations are matched by the Co-op. To date, $69,255.55 has been raised through this program.

Based on recent health facility projects in Saskatchewan, the estimate for building and equipping a new hospital in Weyburn will require approximately $80 to $100 million. Once the hospital is approved, the Saskatchewan government will contribute 80 per cent of the building costs.

The foundation has raised $15.5 million of their $20 million goal, a goal which Barber said, may increase over time.

The 2014/15 board consists of Chair Mal Barber, Ron Milleker, Dr. Alain Lenferna, Andrew Arksey, Michael Hoffman, Sun Country Health Region liason Karen Stephenson, Grant Marinos, Laura Resler, Jennifer Morrice, Scott Moffat, Dan Cugnet, Jeff Hayward and CJ Mainil.



NOTE: To post a comment in the new commenting system you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, OpenID. You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Weyburn This Week welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

blog comments powered by Disqus

About Us | Advertise | Contact Us | Sitemap / RSS   Glacier Community Media:    © Copyright 2014 Glacier Community Media | User Agreement & Privacy Policy


Lost your password?